Let me cast your mind back to POST 15 where I shared my Bucket List with you all. I listed one of my aims:

Have a taste of my dream job as Rugby pitch side reporter/Sports presenter – Linked in with my love of rugby and sport in general, I have always said I want ‘to be the next Gabby Logan’ or the like. I think being able to combine a true passion in your line of work, must be a real joy.”


Well, a certain Lewis Moody may have just been aware of this dream…

The Lewis Moody – one of the greatest rugby players, ex England Captain, England and Leicester Tigers LEGEND, rang me to tell me that he and his Foundation had organised a special day for me at the Tigers vs. London Irish match on Sunday 28th February, and that I would be interviewing a player! Whaaaaaaaaat?!

As I have posted on here, I have had the honor of meeting Lewis before, however, as exciting as the content of our conversation was, I was still in shock that my all time favourite player had RANG me!

As the day came ever closer and Lewis sent me more details across regarding what was in store for me at Welford Road, I couldn’t contain my excitement.

I simply had to share this day with you all…


Andy, my parents, and I (all MAD Tigers fans) met Lewis an hour and a half before kick off. He had sorted us with press passes and we were able to go into the press room and see how a match day pans out for the guys covering the game. I had the pleasure of meeting Bleddyn Jones, rugby commentator for BBC Radio Leicester, whom I listened to a lot when I was at university and couldn’t get to as many games as I would have liked, similarly for away matches. Bleddyn is a Tigers legend himself, making 333 appearances. I tapped into his expertise for my post match interview😉.

We then made our way to the family room where the families and partners convene before and after matches. I had the joy of meeting Geordan Murphy’s wife and their gorgeous baby, Rex – broody much Anna?!❤

Andy and my parents made their way to our seats in the press box, and Lewis took me down the tunnel and on to the pitch – WOW! I never quite realised how amazing the fortress that is Welford Road looked from down there; especially with the incredible Tigers fans’ cheers resonating, waiting for the team to run out on to the pitch! After some selfiesimage1 (2) in the dug outs, introductions to more Tigers legends, ‘Smoke on the Water’ started blaring through the speakers and the ROAR around the stadium and the clapping began….the lads ran on to the pitch – COME ON TIGERS!!! I have never been so close to the action! AHHHHHHH!😀

Lewis and I then joined Andy and my parents in the press box. It was great to get a press point of view of the match, and it was great to be sat in the Crumbie stand that always produces the loudest support. Every fan was especially behind the lads on Sunday; after losing the three previous games on the trot, earning a bonus point win against London Irish was crucial to keep us in contention for a top four finish to keep us in the running to become Aviva Premiership Champions.

image1 (3)

I have to admit I was pretty nervous about having to interview a player if they lost…the last thing they would want to do would be to talk to me!

Fortunately, the tries came rolling in! Pheeeeeeeeew!

My brother was absolutely gutted to not be able to join us – Lewis Moody being his all time favourite player too! Having told Lewis this, we sent Matt a selfie and Lewis recorded a video message for him too – my brother’s response “What a ***king LEGEND!”.


Lewis selfie

Game over, and a bonus point 47-20 win under our belts, Lewis, Andy and I headed back down to the media room. I was able to watch all the post match interviews with the Directors of Rugby and met our main man Richard Cockerill.

I had told Lewis that my favourite player was a new arrival to the club Telusa Veainu. He joined Tigers following the World Cup where he represented Tonga in all four of their pool matches and evidently caught the eyes of the powers that be at Leicester. Since joining the club he has fast become a fans favourite (certainly mine!), scoring some sensational tries and adding some real class and excitement to our back line.

Telusa then appeared in the press room and was ready for his interview…EEEEEEK! I was nervous now! I felt like an ACTUAL reporter and the lights were bloomin’ bright and hot! I managed to get through my questions, only stumbling slightly under the pressure I had put myself under! Lewis and Andy were taking the micky out of me though as I said I fumbled my words because Telusa was staring straight into my eyes! Andy promptly told me I shouldn’t get all flustered like that, certainly not as a consequence of looking into another guys’ eyes! HAHA! Sorry babe!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Lewis had kindly bought me a new Tigers shirt to get signed, so we then made our way up to the hospitality/corporate suites to meet some more players, via the changing room😉 to get some signatures, and have a drink!


 I was well and truly in my element!


I want to take this opportunity to thank the Leicester Tigers, the players and the coaching team for making this day so special for me – every person I spoke to could not have been nicer or more willing to take some time to have a chat with me. They all took such interest in my life and wished me well for my continuing treatment.

A special mention must go to Telusa for being so lovely to interview and a great laugh! Although he did tell me he doesn’t particularly like being interviewed and that he too was nervous – sorry about that!!😛


Nobody however, deserves more of a thank you than Mr Moody himself. From meeting us all at 1.30pm, up until Andy and I left at around 8pm, Lewis was with us ensuring I had the best day ever. He truly epitomises a sporting legend and is a real role model for up and coming players; he has already proven his worth on the pitch and is deserving of every accolade and trophy he has gained, but my goodness, what a genuinely kind, charismatic, selfless, TOP bloke he is!! I seriously cannot begin to describe how good of a day Sunday was, and that is all down to him. The mere fact he decided to set up The Lewis Moody Foundation alongside his wife, Annie, in the first instance shows what type of guy he is – but seriously Lewis, I cannot express how grateful I am to yourself and your charity for these memories that I will now cherish. Being an avid fan from the age of 8, this day you arranged for me– just wow! I have made it more than clear that I am more than willing to do anything I can do to help with his Foundation and I would love to do some fundraising together in the future.

Me and Lewis

Now roll on another HUGE win at home to Exeter this coming Sunday!

My ROAR will be louder than ever – TIIIIIIIGGGGEEERRRRRSSSSSS!


  1. Hi Anna,

    I saw you on Sunday and wondered why Lewis was with you on the pitch, and now i and Tigers community know. I’m pleased you had such a fantastic day.

    As season ticket holders our experiences were so good that my wife and i had our wedding reception at the ground back in 1999.

    I’ve since taken some of my Belgrave RFC under 13’s players and my own children to the Tigers on numerous occassions and it seems we’ve all had the same experience as you, with Tigers players taking the time to listen and joke with them all and making their day as brilliant as yours was

    My wife, children and my lads at Belgrave would all like to pass on our best wishes to you in your ongoing treatment.


    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Tim,

      Thanks so much for taking the time to message me! It is really kind of you and means a lot!
      Just goes to show how great Tigers are in general including the Tigers family as a whole!
      I’m coming down for the game on sun, the sarries game and stade Francais game…so you may well bump into me again! ☺️.
      Thanks again,
      Anna xxx


Leave a Reply

