It’s official folks, I WON!


I am delighted and so proud to announce that I have won a RIBI (Rotary International in Great Britain and Ireland) Young Citizen of the Year Award! I can’t quite believe it!

Launched in 2007 in association with the BBC News Channel, the awards recognise young people under the age of 25, who have demonstrated their commitment to citizenship through various activities.  The awards can be for individuals or groups, for projects that showcase and celebrate the positive citizenship and important responsibilities assumed by many young people in Great Britain and Ireland. Rotary

RIBI Young Citizen winners receive trophies and a prize of £500 at the RIBI Annual Conference, where the awards are presented live on the BBC News Channel. Later in the year, the winners visit the BBC News TV studios in London and the Houses of Parliament.”


The Annual Conference is to be held in Bournemouth at the BIC in April. I am gutted as the conference just so happens to fall on the same weekend as the Paris Marathon😦 . Bloomin’ typical! So I am awaiting to hear how I will receive mine. Clearly, my £500 prize will be going straight in to my fundraising pot for The Brain Tumour Research Campaign.


Words cannot express how shocked I am! I feel that this is the only thing that can be done; someone needs to help, so why on earth should it not be me?! Whereas others seem to think that my actions deserve such lovely recognition…it’s pretty amazing!


I must write this blog post in typical awards season style and thank a few people…

First of all, I must thank every member of the Newton Aycliffe Rotary Club who decided that I was worthy enough of a nomination. Having this new group of friends who believe in me is truly an honour. A special mention must go to Ron who submitted a wonderful piece of writing in addition to my nomination form; he truly does write so beautifully (I think that’s why I have won, as he made me sound better than I am!!). I’d also like to thank Michael for inviting me into the world of Rotary in the first instance by inviting me to talk to the Club.

Finally, I need to thank everyone who has helped me during this mad year, during the highs and the lows. I wouldn’t be able to keep in such a positive frame of mind without you all and I certainly wouldn’t be able to keep the ball rolling on my campaign to raise awareness and funds for research. Every person who reads my posts, or makes a donation off the back of my efforts, are helping my goals become a reality. Slowly, but surely we are helping to save lives.





2 thoughts on “POST 26: WELL, IT IS AWARDS SEASON…

  1. So Glad for you Anna, especially now that you can tell everyone about it. If it was me I would be shouting it from the rooftops. Our Rotary club will be a better place with you as an Honorary member. Best wishes. Michael X

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

