POST 25: IS IT TOO LATE NOW TO SAY ‘desolé’ ?!

It is with such a heavy heart that I have to write this post. I have some disappointing news, news of which took a lot of deliberation and, indeed, tears.

Last week my parents held, what I can only describe as, an intervention with regards to my Paris Marathon Mission. We came to an agreement that I could be risking a stay in a French hospital if I attempt to run the marathon myself.

Unfortunately, I simply haven’t had enough energy to do the amount of training required to ensure I will be taking on this challenge in the safest way possible, as advised by my consultant. I was told I should only consider this marathon if I completed steady, progressive training, and truth be told, I get tired even from showering.

I considered walking; but even this option was quickly ruled out. 26.2 miles is hardly a stroll in the park or a walk with Enid!

Dog walking

My parents even highlighted that due to me still being on chemo, thus my immune system is a lot weaker, if I were to get blisters (which would be inevitable) and these got infected, the risk is high for me.

My parents told me the prospect of me powering on through and attempting to do this really scared them; it was hard to take, but the sensible decision really was obvious.


I feel as though I am letting so many people down, including myself, and I would like to apologise for agreeing to do it in the first place – I think I am kind of in denial over how tired and, more to the point, how ill I am in terms of the treatments I am having to endure.

Those who know me well will realise it has taken a lot for me to give into this; I hate to be defeated, but at the end of the day my health needs to come first.

The imminence of the marathon and my clear lack of preparation was obviously getting to me more than I realised, in my subconscious perhaps? Once we had reached the decision it literally felt as though a massive weight had been lifted off my shoulders.


I informed all of my team separately on the day I made my mind up, and their support and understanding has been incredible. Incredible, just like them! My team are still busy training and getting not only physically but mentally prepared for April 3rd.

I am delighted that I will now be there as chief supporter…banners and all! I cannot express how much it means to me that all these people are putting their bodies through such a feat to help me and my cause!


So I extend my apologies (Je suis desolée) out to all of you lovely lot as well, and plead for you to still back the rest of my team! All money goes to the amazing cause of BTRC; all money goes towards finding a cure!




P.S Sorry for the Bieber reference in the title of this post too – another thing that is hard to admit is that I think I’m a bit of a Belieber now! AHHHHH!!! monkey


3 thoughts on “POST 25: IS IT TOO LATE NOW TO SAY ‘desolé’ ?!

  1. Anna
    Keep setting goals – if you achieve them all you should be setting your sights higher!😉 Seriously please don’t let the fear of failure / you thinking you may be letting anyone down stop you.
    you are doing great


  2. I think you are a very coragoiues lady to do what you are doing don’t get dis hearted of the things you can not physically do but think what you have done you have given people like your self. Strength to carry on I wish you love happiness and and highly recommendation In your work 💕❤️❤️❤️💐💐💐🇬🇧🇳🇿


  3. Anna, we were all just amazed by your determination to try in the first place! If you went ahead and worried everyone, then you would be letting us down by pig headedness!! Far better that you cheer on your team. Don’t be desolete!!!!! thinking of you – lets push those averages for survival forward and forward.


Leave a Reply

