POST 23: BRAIN TUMOUR RESEARCH FUNDING TO BE DEBATED IN PARLIAMENT

WOOOOOHOOOOOOO! WE DID IT!!!!!!!

I have to start this post with a HUGEEEEE heartfelt thank you to each and every one of you who took the time to sign the brain tumour research funding petition. I have been hammering on about this petition and its importance for the past six months; pleading with you all for signatures, informing you about my trip to the Houses of Parliament, and then pleading some more! But I am so delighted to inform you that it was all worthwhile!

On Friday morning, 29th January, indeed sooner than the February 3rd deadline, the petition reached that all important ONE HUNDRED THOUSAND signatures mark!

Petition over 100k

Reaching this target was a massive team effort from many in the ‘brain tumour community’ as I call it. But I would like to take this opportunity to congratulate Maria Lester who launched the petition in memory of her late brother Stephen. You so deserved this result, Maria, and as a brain tumour patient, I thank you for taking that first bold step! Stephen, I also thank you for the inspiration – what a fitting tribute.

The petition has now reached almost 120,000 signatures – simply incredible!

 

Even better, it has now been confirmed that, once the report from the Petitions Committee (the inquiry I attended) has been published, a date will be set for the issue to be debated in Parliament!

 Confirmation of debate

I reiterate my huge amount of gratitude and promise to keep you in the loop with future developments.

 

Much love,

Anna x

 

One thought on “POST 23: BRAIN TUMOUR RESEARCH FUNDING TO BE DEBATED IN PARLIAMENT

Leave a Reply

