As I have told you before, I studied Languages and European Studies at the University of Portsmouth; I majored in French. During my studies at uni I had a conversational tutor called Aba/ M.Bodian. I always struggled with my spoken French, well, I least preferred it out of all my other language disciplines, so I always saw myself as a bit of a poor student in his class!

To my surprise, Aba, who originates from Senegal, contacted me with well wishes after he came across my blog. It was lovely to hear from him last year just after I was diagnosed, and it certainly brought back some fond memories of uni days!

Even lovelier, was the message I received from him last month. He informed me he was now teaching GCSE level students in Senegal and wrote to seek my approval to share my story with his class. I felt extremely honoured and of course I approved!

A few days later I received a document containing messages of support from his GCSE students in this class. As I sat reading all of these, I cried; it felt so incredible to know that even these great kids in Senegal were backing me in my fight against my brain tumour.


I wanted to dedicate this blog to them; Coraline, Thierno, Isatou, Mariama, Aya, Moctar, Malick, Fatou, Issa, Sokhna, Jean Louis, Muhammed, Ousseynou, Lamine, Fama, Ababacar, and Kenny. Not forgetting, of course, your wonderful teacher, Aba Bodinski. I wanted to make sure you wonderful students knew just how much of a smile (as well as happy tears) your letters put on my face! It was such a kind thing to do and I thank you for writing them so beautifully! (As a linguist, I can say your English writing skills are impressive!!).

Senegal Support

I hope you don’t mind, but I wanted to share them on my blog:


To Anna Swabey by the 9th grade students in Le College Bilingue Dakar, Senegal


Dear Anna,

My name is Coraline, I am a student in College Bilingue in Dakar, and I am 14. With my English teacher we had read a text about you and your Brain Tumor.

I find you very courageous to fight such a disease. You are very determined and you help other people who are in the same situation as you and it is very cool. You are a model for me because of your bravery and your determination. You inspired me to fight and to succeed in life.

I advise you to carry on and you will succeed to fight against this Brain Tumor. I also congratulate you on your engagement and upcoming wedding. I wish you the best of the world.


Hello Anna,

My name is Thierno Noba, I am in 9th grade at LCB, and live in Senegal.

I’m writing to express my support. I find you brave, bubbly and amazing. For me, you are inspirational because what you did is something someone else would not surely do. You are inspirational because you managed to turn your negative experiences into positive actions and I find it very fascinating.

I support you because I appreciate all the activities you established to fight Brain Tumor and encourage you to keep fighting because I know that you can make it.

I also want to congratulate you on your engagement and upcoming wedding. I wish you the best.



Dearest Anna,

My name is Isatou KA and I am in 9th grade, in a school called College Bilingue in Senegal.

The reason why I am writing is to show my support. You are bright, intelligent and bubbly. You are very brave and I admire you because you turned your negative experiences into positive actions and I find it really fascinating. You are an inspiration because you really try to help other people in the same condition.

I support you to keep fighting because I know that you can make it. Never give up, keep moving forward because I am positive that you can win the battle.

I also want to congratulate you on your engagement and upcoming wedding. I wish you the best and hope that Andrew will make you happy.

Yours faithfully,

Isatou KA          


Hello Anna

I am writing to you, to support you because what you are living is very difficult. You are very brave, intelligent and courageous. I hope that you will feel well after reading this message. Congratulation on your engagement. I hope that you will have a lot of happiness in your couple. You are a person who inspires me because you fight for the others who have the same disease as you.

Yours faithfully,

Mariama Bharati Fall 


Hello Anna

My name is Aya Dia I’m in 9th grade I live in Dakar. You are really courageous and brave. You are an inspiration because you took your illness positively. And you created a blog to help the people who had the same illness as you. 

I support you to keep fighting because you help a lot of people and I know that you can make it. So keep fighting for the people who have brain tumor.



Dearest Anna,

My name is Moctar Abbott, I am 15 and in 9th grade.  I am currently in a middle school called LCB that is located in Dakar, Senegal.

This week in class we have been talking about you and your amazing story. I understood that you are a person full of life which, considering your situation is extremely inspiring. As a result, I believe everyone should know about what you are currently going through. I believe that I am very privileged to be writing to you today.

I would also like to take this time to congratulate you on your engagement and wish you and your partner a great wedding.


Yours faithfully,

Moctar Abbott


Dear Anna,

My name is Malick Ndoye I am from L.C.B (a bilingual school) in Senegal (in Dakar) in 9th grade. I am writing you this letter to show you my happiness about your blog and what you are doing for people who are affected by brain tumour like you. I think that you are generous, courageous, kind and positive in what you are doing. You are an inspiration because if everyone is doing like you, a lot of people will survive to those kinds of diseases. I think you should keep on fighting for it and helping other brain tumour patients. Congratulation on your engagement and your upcoming weeding.      

Yours faithfully,

Malick Ndoye                              


Hi Anna,

My name is Fatou Balla Mboup. I come from Senegal. I’m a student in a school called LCB and I’m in 9thgrade.

Anna, you are one of the liveliest people I have ever heard of before. You are also very kind because of your action. Not everyone in the world will do that if they found out they just have 3 months to live. You Anna, you were fighting against the Brain Tumour and you don’t give up. You also think about other people who have the same problem as you and helping by show them they are not alone. That’s why I believe you are an inspiration.                                                  

I just want to tell you, don’t give up, continue to fight and help those people. Be brave.

You have all my support.                                                                               

 I also want to tell you, congratulation for being engaged and soon be married. You have all my wishes and hope this day will be the best for you and your future husband.                                                                                                                       

With all my support,

Fatou Balla MBOUP


Hello Anna

My name is Issa Kanji. I am 15 and I am writing to express my support. In my point of view, you are an amazing, courageous, smiling person who is determined to beat brain tumor. You are an inspiration to us because you are suffering from brain tumor and still getting one of the highest grades in the world.

 I support you because I know that your condition does not depend on the doctor but on how you try to fight against the disease. I am telling you this because GOD is the one that created the person that told you that you were going to die in 3 months but look, you lived a year longer and you are still doing amazing! I think it is very brave of you to decide to get married. And I am really impressed by your fiancée. Because even though you are suffering from one of the most dangerous diseases in the world, he still loves you for who you are. And it was really courageous of you to accept.

I encourage you, and hope you live longer because you DESERVE LIFE and LOVE.



Hi Anna!

I’m Sokhna, I’m fifteen and I am in LCB School in Dakar. I am also with your former teacher Mr. Bodian! We talked about you today in class. For me I think that you are strong not because you fight your tumor but because of the marathon of Paris. I can’t already run in sports so I think that you are brave for that. You are positive because you are smiling and staying strong and the key of success is to stay positive. It is the most important thing. I think you are an inspiration because you inspire me in working hard. You need to keep fighting because I think that you are strong and you need to fight for your friends, family and your fiancé but also for you! I think that your family is very proud of you and so are all the people who had read your blog! So congratulations on your upcoming wedding. Anna keep going like this I hope you will win this fight against your brain tumor!

PS: Listen to Stronger by Kanye West and Daft Punk because I believe the song has been written for you

Yours faithfully,

Sokhna Dabo.


Dear Anna,

My name is Jean-Louis Jousso, I’m in 9th Grade in a school called LCB and I live in Dakar. After reading the article about you, I can say that you are a determined and strong -minded woman. You are really courageous for fighting against this big disease. By doing that you’re saying: Never give up! You have all my support.

Congratulations on your engagement.

Yours faithfully

Jean Louis



Dear Anna,

My name is Muhammed and I study at L.C.B (Le College Bilingue). I am in 3e and I live in Senegal, Dakar. I read your story and I think that you are a very nice and courageous woman. I think you are an inspiration because thinking about other people is always a good thing and even if it is about people in the same situation. You are a very smart woman and with all the things you accomplished you don’t deserve such a thing.

But you should keep fighting, a miracle can still happen. Follow your dreams and don’t give up. I also wanted to congratulate you for your upcoming wedding and I wish it to be full of happiness.



Dear Anna,

My name is Ousseynou Ndoye. I study at L.C.B, in 9th grade. I live in Senegal. I decided to send you this message because of your act of braveness and courage. After I read your story, I was speechless! The way you reacted was just exceptional and very inspirational. You are no ordinary person but a new figure in history! A lot of people in your situation would have only thought about themselves but you did not! You decided to help others. I believe your acts of kindness can beat the Brain tumor and because you are never alone, even from Africa you have support! Congratulations on your engagement! I hope you have a peaceful and successful life!



Dear Anna

My name is Lamine Sidy Diouf I am in 9th grade. I am in a school called LCB. I am 15 years old and I live in Dakar, Senegal. We have been talking about you and for me you are a really brave woman because if I was at your place I would be crying for three months. The way you deal with your illness really impressed me. You are positive and it is really cool!! Continue to live your life like you want and don’t give up I am your number 1 fan in Senegal. And also congratulations and good wishes for you and your partner. Happy wedding.

Yours faithfully                                                  



Dear Anna

My name is Fama Mbacke. I’m 14 years old. I’m studying in LCB Dakar (Senegal). I found you really courageous and inspirational. Because I think that if it was me, I wouldn’t be that strong and positive minded. You inspire me because I really like what you are doing “showing to people in the same case of you that they are not alone”. I find this great, because I think that many people need that support that you give. I find this fascinating and encourage you to continue! I wish that you will continue fighting as you have always done.  Please never give up! Congratulation on your engagement and all the best for the future.

Yours faithfully,



Dearest Anna,

My name is Ababacar Ba, I am in 9th grade, and I am from Dakar. I am writing this letter to show my support and all the attention that I carry to your situation.

You are a courageous woman and even though I have never met you, I am sure you are always merry, because you never give up and you stay positive.  I really appreciate what you did when you created a blog to show others that are in the same position that they are not alone. I wish you all the happiness in the world and that you spend a beautiful wedding with your fiancé.

Yours faithfully,



Hello Anna, my name is Kenny Araujo, I am fifteen years old and I go to school at le college bilingual de Dakar. I am in the 9th grade. I think you are a very courageous and inspiring person for not getting affected by your disease.

I encourage you to keep doing what you do because it helps people in the same situation as you are but that are not as brave as you are. And I also encourage you to keep up your fund raising activities because there are people with the same disease but can’t get treatment because they are poor. Congratulations for your upcoming wedding.                             

Kenny Araujo



Thanks again!

All my love,

Anna xxxx

Leave a Reply

