To wrap up 2015, and the mad year I have had, I want to briefly replicate the first post I wrote at the beginning of last year (where did that time go?!). I want to give you an insight into the updated version; who I was, who I am, who I will be.

Anna Swabey

Who I was:

  • I was a 23 year old girl, dealt the worst of hands; told that I had roughly 3 years to op
  • I didn’t know where to turn, what to say, what to do.
  • I had no idea why cancer had chosen me; a young, fit, healthy girl?!
  • I was heartbroken – not set to ever marry or have children; not set to live my dreams.
  • I was trying to hold it all together for my family.
  • I was determined to live; I had to fight.
  • I had two brain operations.Mask 1
  • I was sick, exhausted, and experiencing gruelling treatment.
  • I needed a focus; I had to help others, and I needed to fundraise in order to help find more treatments and, ultimately, a cure.


Who I am now:

  • I am Anna Swabey, a 24 year old woman, campaigning to obtain more funding for brain tumour research.
  • I am engaged to be married to my dream man; a mummy to a gorgeous puppy.
  • Together, since March, we have raised almost £37,000 for Brain Tumour Research Campaign.
  • I have attended the Houses of Parliament to share my experiences with the Petitions Committee.
  • I have met and spoken to the most incredibly inspiring young people, experiencing a similar, if not identical, illness.
  • I am still undergoing chemotherapy treatment; still determined to fight Trev.
  • I am training to run the Paris marathon.
  • I am in awe that I have over 86,000 views of my blog!


Who I want to be:

  • I want to be alive for many more years to come.
  • I want to be a wife.
  • I want to raise £100,000 for BTRC.
  • I want to continue to share my journey, in the hope of making a difference to people and families who are yet to be dealt the blow we have.
  • I want to remain tough and keep fighting.
  • I want to complete the Paris Marathon.
  • I want to keep positive, keep smiling, and keep being ME (i.e. a bit of a nutter😛 ) !


I am determined that 2016 will be a good year for my entire family and I. I can’t wait to see what this year holds for my new little family unit; Anna, Andrew and Enid. I can’t wait to see, with your help, how much of a difference we can make to brain tumour research and to patients lives, just like mine.

I thank you all for supporting me throughout 2015, and I hope you continue to follow my progress and campaigning in 2016.

Finally, I wish you all….






  1. Big love to you and yours Anna….you are ….and continue to be… amazing source of inspiration to me. I am so looking forward to running with you in Paris and helping in some small way towards you achieving your fundraising goal. You truly are an exceptional woman and I feel honoured to almost know you! Xxxxxx


  2. Big love Anna to you and yours. You are….and continue to be….a massive inspiration to me and I will be honored to run with you in Paris and help in whatever small way towards your amazing fundraising goal. You make me want to be a better person and I am very happy to almost know such an incredible person. A very happy new year to you and I hope, one of many. Xxxxxxx


  3. You continue to inspire me, although we’ve never met. I’ve signed the petition and now I’ve decided to raise money for BTRC by having my hair chopped. In just a few hours I’m up to £131 already! Thank you for sharing your story and making a real difference.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Wow, thank you so much l, that’s incredible! If I can support in anyway, do let me know ☺️.
      Just out of interest, and apologies for prying, have you heard of the little princess trust?
      Thanks again Anna 😘


  4. I have only just come across your blog & story; you write beautifully and really are an inspiration🙂 I suffered a brain tumour a decade ago, 3 surgeries and a hell of a lot of ongoing effort but nothing in comparison! I’ll certainly be following your progress.
    Life inside the Locket


Leave a Reply

