As promised…

As I have hammered into you all since I started writing my blog, Saturday May 2nd saw Lox of Love, my family’s business, and I, host Cinderella’s Charity Ball at Wynyard Hall. Seeing as I have been rabbitting on about it for a while, I thought it was only fair that I share the evening with you all.

The organisation of it all was, at times, quite traumatic. I was so desperate for it to be an enjoyable evening and raise a load of money for BTRC and I am a perfectionist, so was determined to make it MINT. Fortunately, all the stress seemed 100% worth it.

To set the scene; we chose the beautiful venue of Wynyard Hall, so the wow factor was there right away on arrival for our ball guests. The red carpet was laid at the front entrance, and stood either side of this carpet were our beautiful Cinderella and Fairy Godmother, thanks to Emma Enchanted.Wynyardchandelier

blog cinderella and me

On entering the building, guests were greeted with a glass of bubbly and the Image captured bytalented Georgia Fletcher tinkling the keys of the piano in the main hall. We then made our way into the conservatory where all our amazing raffle prizes and auction lots were on display. With the help of my incredible family, raffle tickets were being sold left, right and centre; this excited me a lot. We had all Image captured by spent a lot of time ensuring the quality of the prizes; we were more than aware, the better the prizes, the more money we could raise for BTRC. I was busy trying to say hello to everyone arriving; it was such a joy to see Image captured bymy family, friends from many different walks of my life, and people that I had not even met before! To know they were all there to support me in my fundraising and to support BTRC was really humbling.

A highlight of the evening, I must say, was all thanks to Ryan Metcalfe. Ryan decided to get in touch with us after hearing about our plans, and he offered his services free of charge. These services turned out to be some of the most mind boggling sleight of hand magic! A huge fan of Dynamo myself, I always Image captured byfear for other magicians that they have so much to live up to, but my goodness, Ryan smashed it! All I could hear were gasps and laughter (and swear words) coming from our guests. From ludicrous card tricks, to the sheer impossible, Ryan truly did make our evening MAGICAL!  All down to his incredible generosity; Ryan, I thank you!

As dinner was ready to be served, we made our way into the ballroom; this is where we would be spending the remainder of ourBall tables evening. We ploughed through wine, our starter, more wine, our main course, more wine, our desert, a Image captured bycheeky glass slipper cocktail. I was beginning to get nervous when the cheesecake was served…a few mouthfuls in, and that was my cue to get up on stage and make my speech! EEEEEEEK! There was so much I wanted and simply needed to say! A majority of which was a heap load of thank you’s. As detailed on the evening, I could not stand up and thank absolutely everybody who has speechnot only supported me since my diagnosis, but had made a particular effort with helping me organise this ball, but I tried my best to acknowledge those present that evening. I think nerves slightly got the better of me and I possibly missed out a few; for this reason I feel like the best thing to say on this blog post is one big THANK YOU! That thank you goes out anyone who helped the event happen, all I need to say I suppose, is that you really do know who you are. To each and every one of you, I am so grateful for all your support; it would not have happened without you.

I am hoping (and I have already sent out a plea on facebook) that someone who attended the ball may have recorded my speech; I am sure I saw many camera phones up during my rambling. If you have it recorded, please can you get in touch with me?

Following my speech, I was more than delighted to introduce the room to Wendy Fulcher, the founder of BTRC. I was honoured to have her join us for the evening and to then join me on stage to make her own speech, informing everyone just how incredible this charity is. I then went back to my table, I wish I was informed of what was to come…a load of tears!

Wendy began her speech by reading out an email sent to her that morning by my consultant, Kevin O’Neill, and I feel I simply have to share this with you all:

I am sorry I cannot be at the Cinderella Ball but I couldn’t pass up the opportunity of at least sending a few words of thanks and commendation.

When I first met Anna I saw a young beautiful girl who had been hit from the side by this frightening diagnosis. She had everything to live for but was lost with very few options. I was instantly drawn to her energy and determination to fight this and do something positive and I think bringing together tonight’s Ball is a reflection of that. This is something I can identify and as her treating neurosurgeon we are now both in this battle together. I offered Anna a different path. One with options because she needed that, she deserved it and it was possible through our endeavours in research. There is always something to be done whether large or small to improve the outcome and overcome this condition. Some of that is at our fingertips now and some is in the pipeline for the future which leads to our fundamental goal in research.  To fight this disease until we have a cure. I refer to this as our battle against brain tumours which is one reason why we named it a campaign. So thank you Anna for your efforts and support, but in particular your bravery and determination. Lastly a big thank you to all here tonight for attending and offering your support and for joining this campaign.

Enjoy your evening

Kevin O’Neill

Consultant Neurosurgeon Head of Neurosurgery Imperial College Healthcare NHS Trust

I was so happy to hear Kevin’s words and I know he would have loved to have been at the ball also.

It was great for Wendy to share with us all, all about the charity and what it means to the charity to have our support. Within such a short space of time, less than 3 months, with the help of family, friends, and new friends, Wendy announced we have managed to raise over £12,000 already! (excluding money raised from the evening itself! ).

It was an honour to have Wendy join us and an honour listening to her speak so passionately about this campaign. I very much feel like I have made the right decision for me, in choosing BTRC as my chosen charity. It is so close to my heart and to be able to have such a great relationship with Wendy and Kevin, makes it feel even more right.

Tears wiped, it was time to hand over to my Dad and Sister; Auction and raffle time! As mentioned we were so fortunate that prizes were incredible thanks to more than generous donations! I was so overwhelmed by everyone’s involvement in the auction bidding! Auction lots ranged from a villa holiday in Spain, to 4 VIP Foo Fighters tickets, signed Artic Monkey’s and Noel Gallaghers High Flying Birds vinyl, to football memorabilia, to the most beautiful Cinderella Carriage Cake! Cinderella cakeMoney was flying in and in the auction alone we raised over £3000!!!! On a side note, some of that was spent on a present for me! Andy, my boyfriend, bought me the signed Miranda DVD!!!!!! EEEEEEEEP! IDOL ALERT…I was so chuffed, but he did get a telling off as well😛 .

A huge shout out to my nephew, Edison, and my niece, Amber for having the highest raffle ticket sales! It was phenomenal, we managed to raise over £1000 in raffle tickets! To be fair, the top prize was a villa holiday in Florida!!! Along with a whole range of hamper prizes, Kindle Fire, hotel stays, afternoon tea for 4 at Wynyard, golf days the list really did go on and on….

Then it was PARTY TIME!!!!!! The part I had certainly been waiting for…I was desperate to get my dance on…and boy we all did! A highlight for me was oops upside your headeveryone dancing along to Oops Upside Your Head! – This was one of the inappropriate song choices for the evening! I walked on stage to Kylie Minogue Can’t Get you out of my Head, and then challenged everyone to beat my inappropriate song choice. Winner was Clever Trevor! (even though I do not think Trev is clever…or at least he won’t be clever soon!!!!!)

Midnight struck, and to mark the special moment in Cinderella’s story, instead of her having to leave, we chose to have a balloon drop instead! I chose to drop the balloons to the song Klingande by Jubel; including the appropriate lyrics “SAVE ME”.

balloon drop

Unfortunately 1am came around far too quickly for my liking! But everyone certainly seemed to have a great evening!Image captured by

On a personal level, it was amazing having so many loved ones there but also people I had not had the joy of meeting until the evening. It really made me realise how blessed I am to have SO many people supporting the Brain Tumour Research Campaign, and the campaign to help prolong my life!

It now feels extremely weird without having the ball to think about, but I am already on to my next fundraising mission; and it’s a BIG one, I tell you! I will reveal all as soon as I can.

All that I will finish with is another THANK YOU! I am one very lucky girl, who, with your help, raised a staggering £4934.70 that evening!!!!!🙂🙂🙂

Me mum and dad


Leave a Reply

